The Oceanographic Institute of Paris, built by the architect Henri-Paul Nénot, was officially opened January 23, 1911.
The Oceanographic Institute of Paris was built on part of the former estate of the convent of the Sisters of Saint Michel. The convent was acquired by the University of Paris with the help of the state, the city of Paris and HSH Prince Albert Ist of Monaco
Details of the facade indicate and return to the role of the Oceanographic Institute of Paris to showcase the world of the sea. Standing out from the façade are crabs, jellyfish, seahorses and an octopus that adorns the wrought iron door.
Via Wikipedia. Translation from the original French by Google Translate.